19 December 2018

Press release: For immediate release

The NZ Comedy Guild Awards held last night in the packed Classic comedy bar recognised local and international talent and their achievements across what has been an incredible year for comedy in New Zealand.

The annual awards are a celebration of an industry which has grown to take on the world. With acts like Flight Of The Conchords, Rose Matafeo, Urzila Carlson, and Rhys Darby achieving huge international status, it shows that the industry here is proving to be a great producer of worldwide talent.

The event was marked by wins from Brendhan Lovegrove, who took out three awards, newcomer Josiah Day with two, and the hit TV show Wellington Paranormal with a couple of awards also.

Three prestigious Guild awards are named for honoring late kiwi comedians. The Ewen Gilmour Award for Lifetime Achievement was presented to Mike King. A recognition, not only of his outstanding comedy career but also his committed efforts in the mental health sector. The Guild salutes Mr King's comedy career which helped form our comedy industry itself. His longstanding work with mental health organisations including keytolife.org.nz make him a deserving recipient of the award affectionally known as "The Ewie".

Mike accepted the award and dedicated it to his dear fried Ewen, Ewen's mother, Janet and Ewen's brother Lyall.

The big winner for 2018 was Rose Matafeo who has had incredible success on the international stage in recent years. Her achievements in prestigious international festivals were recognized as being both trial blazing and showing a path for another generation of New Zealand Comics.

A full list of awards, nominees and winners follows.

OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO THE INDUSTRY

Bec Sandys
Brendhan Lovegrove
Joel Wood
Scott Blanks
WINNER Brendhan Lovegrove

THE GREEN ROOMER

David Correos
Josiah Day
Justine Smith
Paul Douglas
WINNER Justine Smith

'THE CLASSIC' BEST COMEDY VENUE

Basement Theatre (AKL)
The Fringe Bar (WELL)
Revelry (AKL
Tabac (AKL)
WINNER The Fringe Bar

BEST INTERNATIONAL GUEST

Greg Fleet
Jon Bennett
Lloyd Langford
Rhys Nicholson
WINNER Rhys Nocholson

COMIC ORIGINALITY

Chris Parker
David Correos
Paul Williams
Ray Shipley
WINNER David Correos

BEST IMPROV SHOW

Social Improv Night (SIN, Steven Lyons) Snort MacKenzie's Daughters WINNER Snort

BEST LIVE SHOW

Frickin' Dangerous Bro - Humble
Nick Rado – Nailed It!
Two Hearts – Restart The Hearts
Rhys Mathewson – The Clumsy Tango
Rose Matafeo – Horndog
WINNER Rose Matafeo

FUNNIEST ONLINE PRESENCE

James Mustapic
Joe Daymond
Melanie Bracewell
Tom Sainsbury
WINNER James Mustapic

BEST COMEDY WEB SERIES, PODCAST OR RADIO SERIES

Alice Snedden's Bad News

I'll Be Back Catalogue

SHXT Talk

The Male Gayz

WINNER Alice Snedden's Bad News

BEST COMEDY WRITING FOR FILM OR TELEVISION

7 Days

Funny Girls

Nick Rado

The Project

Wellington Paranormal

WINNER Wellington Paranormal

BEST COMEDY PERFORMANCE ON TELEVISION

Angella Dravid

Chris Parker

Guy Williams

James Mustapic

Josh Thomson

Rose Matafeo

WINNER Josh Thomson

BEST COMEDY TV SERIES OR EVENT

7 Days

Funny Girls

The Project

Wellington Paranormal

WINNER Wellington Paranormal

BEST NEWCOMER

Chester Jerrat

Joe Daymond

Josh Thompson (Josh Jack)

Josiah Day

Hannah Campbell

WINNER Josiah Day

BREAKTHROUGH COMEDIAN OF THE YEAR

James Mustapic

Joe Daymond

Josiah Day

Melanie Bracewell

WINNER Melanie Bracewell

GAG OF THE YEAR

Josiah Day – Skeleton Boy Keegan Govind – What is this? Lana Walters – Bra shopping Ruby Esther – Has everybody had a good... upbringing? WINNER Josiah Day

BEST MC

Brendhan Lovegrove
Jerome Chandrahasen
Justine Smith
Rhys Mathewson
WINNER Brendhan Lovegrove

BEST MALE COMEDIAN

Ben Hurley Brendhan Lovegrove Paul Douglas Pax Assadi

WINNER Brendhan Lovegrove

BEST FEMALE COMEDIAN

Donna Broolbanks Justine Smith Melanie Bracewell Rose Matafeo

WINNER Rose Matafeo

THE ANDREW KOVACEVICH MEMORIAL CUP FOR MOST OFFENSIVE GAG

David Correos – Bike Pump James Malcom – Disneyland Sex **WINNER David Correos**

THE KEVIN SMITH MEMORIAL CUP FOR OUTSTANDING ARTIST ACHIEVEMENT

Guy Montgomery Melanie Bracewell Ray Shipley Rose Matafeo Urzila Carlson WINNER Rose Matafeo

THE EWEN GILMOUR AWARD FOR LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT WINNER Mike King

Ends